Ultimate 1980s Cartoon Themes

OK, in honor of President’s Day here in the US, I’ve decided to do something unprecedented: I am finding my Top 10 80s Child Cartoon theme songs (Note: not all of these shows aired exclusively in the 1980s, but they are shows “children of the ’80s” will always cherish).  Also, please note, this is a personal list, so girly favorites may not be included.  Feel free to ream me out about how My Little Pony had the best theme.  Confession: Five-year-old me had quite a crush on Jem:

Ok, now on with the list!

Honorable Mentions

– Inspector Gadget

– Hulk Hogan’s Rock ‘n’ Wrestling

– Super Mario Bros. Super Show!

#10 (tie) –  Dinosaucers and Silverhawks (forgotten favorite)

#9 – Muppet Babies (Muppets in any form are top-notch)

#8 – He-Man and the Masters of the Universe

#7 (tie) – Tiny Toons Adventures and Animaniacs

#6 (tie) – The Snorks and The Smurfs

#5 – Fat Albert

#4 (tie) – Ducktales and Darkwing Duck (When there’s trouble, just call D-W!)

#3 (tie) – G.I. Joe and Transformers

 

#2 – Thundercats

#1 – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (as if there was any doubt!)

Let the debate begin!

9 responses to “Ultimate 1980s Cartoon Themes

  1. What about She-ra and Strawberry Shortcake and Rainbow Brite? You know you watched those too!

  2. You have way too much time on your hands 🙂 I think Smurfs should be #1.

  3. Mike, you’re a super-sleuth

  4. Oh man! On man! Oh man! What a great post!

    I’m an obsessive addict of 80’s cartoons

    My top picks:

    #1 Darkwing Duck
    #2 Jem
    #3 Smurfs
    #4 DuckTales

    and those are all on your list too, I see!

    ~~EK

  5. i was getting nervous that you left out thundercats – i was going to have to beat you and then make you say “cheetara” til your head exploded

  6. THIS WAS GREAT!!!! Brought tears to my eyes – as I remembered how my brother, sister, and I used to run home from school to sit in front of the T.V. for Ducktales. WOW. YOU brought me back – AND I LOOVED JEM, come to think of it I would have put this in the same exact order you just did – although I MUST admit I was getting nervous that I hadn’t seen “Thunder, Thunder, Thunder, THUNDERCATS….ooooooooooooooooo” 🙂

  7. I m looking for a cartoon from the mid 80s that had “the heat is on” song by glen fry for the show. The cartoon was about these kids stuck in some other demension with wierd “melting” scenery. Cant remember the name.

  8. My Favorite Was Tmnt And Darkwing Duck. Thanks For The Memories. Further Note, I Too Had A Crush With Jem And Played With My Causins As G.i. Joe Characters While He Is The Badguy I.e. Cobra Character And The Objective Is To Rescue Jem.

  9. I remember them all even She-ra, Strawberry shortcake, Rainbow Brite, and Dungeons and Dragons. I wish they where still being played on tv for my kids to watch! I think they would love them as much i did when i was little.

Leave a Reply

